2020 Club World Cup venues and teams announced

The global club competition will bring together teams from six continental confederations, of which 5 have qualified, as well as the host nation’s league champions.

Knockout foot ball keeps fans on the edge of their seats

The opening match will feature the Qatari Champions Al Duhail & Auckland City of New Zealand. The game is scheduled for 1st February and is to be held at the Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium.

Ahmad Bin Ali is the newest completed stadium in Qatar which was officially opened on 18 December 2020 – Qatar National Day (exactly two years before the 2022 FWC final.)

The other two stadiums to play host to the Club World Cup are the Khalifa International Stadium which will feature two games and the Education City Stadium which will welcome four games, including the Final and 3rd place playoff.

Auckland City of New Zealand will represent Oceania, while Al Ahly (Egypt) qualified on behalf of CAF. UEFA will be represented by the German Giants Bayern Munich and Ulsan Hyundai of South Korea are the representatives of the AFC. The most recent team to join the line-up are Tigres UANL (Mexico) beating LAFC in a dramatic comeback victory to be crowned CONCACAF champions.

Meanwhile, the Libertadores decider will be held in late January which will decide CONMEBOL’s representative.

The major question on everybody’s lips is whether fans will be allowed into the stadiums and if Qatar will host a Fan Fest. At this point, it is still unclear but we expect more clarity later this month.

The draw to finalise the detailed fixtures will take place in Zurich on 19 January. The match schedule is available already and can be downloaded here.

Translate »